Inspired

I have been inspired to start blogging again, despite the fact that I finished my Kiva fellowship over 3 months ago now and life has moved with momentum in countless other directions since then.  Also I got a comment! And that felt good, so thanks to my filipino friend who enjoyed my post about the country I like to call Sweet Chilly Phili.  Of course, it really isn’t so chilly :-)

Right now I’m in New Zealand about to embark on a 3 week trek in Nepal through the Annapurna region.  Amped? Well, kind of.  I think sometimes before you leave on a trip you get swamped with endless amounts of min.  Admin is the devastating precursor to what will be an amazing adventure – unfortunately every trip requires some of it.  So in short, once I get on the plane I will be super duper amped. Right now I’m just exhausted.

Anyways I just found out that my blog about travelling on a shoe string was posted last month.. You can check it out here!

I’m going to take some good ole fashioned pen and paper to Kathmandu with me so I’l record my adventures and then post them here after. Wish me luck & catch ya soon!

2 Responses to “Inspired”


  1. 1 Gail September 25, 2010 at 7:57 pm

    Very inspiration views!!! I’d love to hear more about what changes you’ve made in your life that take you in different directions to keep you happy and vibrant. I guess for me with my partner leaving me I feel like I need to look to others for inspiration and you sound like you are having an awesome time and some very awesome adventures.

    • 2 Anna October 11, 2010 at 4:36 am

      Sorry for the delay, I’ve just emerged from the Annapurna circuit and the craziness of bustling Kathmandu. I think travel for me has been a huge opportunity to come up with fresh ideas, new insights and put me in the right frame of mind to live following my passions. I was lucky enough to be transfered to the Philippines for work in 2008 and that really gave me a different perspective on living (well one that I’d always known deep down but had forgotten over the years).

      I think that if you don’t feel as if you have a happy and vibrant life, then you either need to change your mindset, or change your situation. I think actively seeking change is the first step in the journey towards positive change. You may not know what that change will be until it presents itself but if you seek it, then it will come. This is just my experience so far however won’t be everyone’s cup of tea as each person is motivated in such different ways.. Eg just because travel works for me it doesn’t mean that it will inspire everyone, and if you don’t have the means to travel then there are definitely other ways to be inspired!

      I read a fantastic book while we were trekking called “The Art of Happiness” written by Howard Cutler and the Dalai Lama. Maybe a recommended read?

      I will update some of my work from the trek to the blog soon.


Leave a Reply

Hi there, I'm Anna - a 25 year old Kiwi just doing my thang. Hope you enjoy the blog.

I was posted in Bohol, Philippines for 3 months working for an organisation called Kiva as part of the The Kiva Fellows Program. Here I worked with a local Microfiance institute called Community Economic Ventures (CEVI) who were just awesome! From November-January 2011 I embarked on my second Kiva fellowship to Uganda and was working alongside Pearl Microfinance.

As part of the Kiva fellowship we had to blog about our experiences. Even though that phase of my life is over I'm keen to keep up with the writing. Most likely about travels & setting up business in the Philippines - or just anything else that comes into my head.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

